Please see the following list over maritme administrations (countries) that the Norwegian Maritime Authority has recognized:

Agreements with issuing countries

To date, the Norwegian Maritime Authority has recognized the following countries, including EU countries:

Argentina Australia Austria Belgium Brazil Bulgaria
Canada Chile China Croatia Cyprus the Czech Republic
Denmark Estonia Finland France Germany Ghana
Greece Hungary Iceland India Indonesia Ireland
Italy Jamaica Latvia Liechtenstein Lithuania Luxembourg
Malaysia Malta  Montenegro Myanmar the Netherlands New Zealand
Peru the Philippines Poland Portugal Romania Russia
Singapore Slovakia Slovenia South Africa South Korea Spain
Sri Lanka Sweden Turkey Ukraine the United Kingdom Vietnam

In addition, a unilateral agreement has been entered into to allow seamen with certificates issued in the U.S. to serve on board vessels registered in the Norwegian International Ship Register.

The Norwegian Maritime Authority will consider entering into agreements with countries other than the above where particular shipping companies document a stated desire to employ a reasonable number of seafarers. Such requests, with accompanying documentation, are to be made to the Norwegian Maritime Authority.

Agreements with other flag States

It is presupposed that Norwegian seafarers will be permitted to serve on ships registered in EU member States and thus be issued with an endorsement in accordance with regulation I/10 of the STCW Convention and Directive 2008/106 (125) on the minimum level of training of seafarers. In addition, Norway has entered into agreements with the flag States of Antigua and Barbuda, the Bahamas, Belize, Hong Kong, Panama, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines and Vanuatu.

Baltic “aliens”

Seamen in the Baltic countries who are regarded as stateless (“aliens”) will, according to the letter of 10 September 2007 from the Ministry of Trade, Industry and Fisheries, be given equal status as nationals of Estonia, Latvia and Lithuania respectively. In practice, this means that they don’t have to be granted dispensation to serve as master on vessels registered in the Norwegian International Ship Register, but only need an endorsement on their national certificates - like other EEA nationals.