Norway has delegated, under separate, but otherwise similar and equal written agreements, inspection and certification functions under MLC, 2006 to the following Classification Societies:

  • American Bureau of Shipping
  • Bureau Veritas
  • DNV-GL
  • Lloyd's Register
  • RINA
  • ClassNK

The RO chosen by the shipowner for conducting the SMC audits, will carry out the inspections required for the issuance of the Maritime Labour Certificate.

ROs must comply with MLC, 2006 Standard A5.1.2 and Guideline B5.1.2. Documentation of such compliance should be provided to the Norwegian Maritime Authority as soon as possible. In the first instance, a description should be given of the measures undertaken to give effect to the Standard and the Guideline.