• Published: 30/06/2016
  • Changed: 30/06/2016

From 16 June 1998 it has been required for recreational craft to be CE-marked. The equivalent requirement for engines entered into force on 1 January 2006. CE-marking applies to the whole of the EEA-area and shows that the product has been produced in accordance with EU-regulations.

The responsibility for CE-marking lies with the manufacturer or, for imported vessels, with the one who first placed the vessel on the market and/or put into service in the EEA.

Which vessels must be CE-marked?

According to the Application Guide to the Amended Recreational Craft Directive:

“Any boat of any type intended for sports and leisure purposes of hull length from 2,5m to 24 m, measured according to the harmonised standard, regardless of the means of propulsion; the fact that the same boat could be used for charter or for recreational boating training shall not prevent it being covered by this Directive when it is placed on the Community market for recreational purposes”.

As a main rule, pleasure vessels imported from countries outside the EEA-area must be CE-marked before they can be placed on the marked or used in Norway.

Which vessels are exempt from the CE-requirement?

  • Pleasure vessels first placed on the market and/or put into service in the EEA before 16 June 1998.
  • Craft intended solely for racing, including rowing racing boats and training rowing boats, labelled as such by the manufacturer
  • Original historical craft and individual replicas thereof designed before 1950, built predominantly with the original materials and labelled as such by the manufacturer
  • Caft built for own use, provided that they are not subsequently placed on the Community market during a period of five years.
Back to top